It’s fun to run

Last weekend, I got to run with my best friends in a 5K.
I was excited because the theme was flannel and hotdish, and we had matching monogrammed flannel shirts 🙂 Plus, it was one of my friend’s first EVER 5K’s and I was so damn proud of her.

I was also aware that I haven’t been running at all since October…so I had pretty low expectations for myself.

Imagine my surprise when, about 2 minutes in, I remembered something – this is fun. The course was awesome, quite a change from the cornfields and cow pastures that I usually feast my eyes on while training. Downtown Minneapolis landmarks, lofts, bridges, the river – it was fantastic. I finished in under 30 minutes and was pleased.

So pleased, in fact, that I decided to run again today! Which, in hindsight, was probably a bad idea. (So. Sore). Here are some of my disjointed thoughts that I jotted down in a haze of endorphin-infused joy upon returning home:

  • This is great.
  • How come I never knew there was an app that would tell you your average and current pace every five minutes? Brilliant.
  • Damn, how come I’m so fast? Oh yeah – I haven’t recently grown and pushed out a human.
  • Hey, this is my half marathon goal race pace!!
  • Ooo, time for new shoes. My lower back might splinter.
  • F***, I’m awesome.
  • Thank goodness no one is around to see my intermittent rapping to Macklemore’s “Thrift Shop.” With dancing.

This also was the Baby C’s first time in the lower section of the stroller, facing forward, as opposed to riding in his car seat facing me. As you can tell from the picture, I think he was less impressed with the whole experience than I was.

He’ll get used to it! 🙂

 

 

Even Lady Grey kept up pretty well, and was happily worn out the rest of the evening.

I was too – I forget how vitally important stretching is. Ouch.

So, to sum up, running rocks. It makes me feel like I can, and should, take on anything and anyone. You should try it!

Leave a Reply

